Second ChinaMade Workshop

China’s Domestic Infrastructures

第二次中国制造学术研讨会: 中国国内基础设施


Workshop Overview:

 研讨会概况:

This is the second of three workshops for a Henry Luce Foundation-funded initiative titled “China Made: Asian Infrastructures and the ‘China Model’ of Development.” It will be hosted by the University of Colorado Center for Asian Studies and the Hong Kong Institute for Humanities and Social Sciences

This workshop will bring together scholars from different fields of the social sciences and humanities to discuss infrastructure development in China. Drawing on the recent infrastructural turn in the social sciences and bearing on an ethnographic approach to infrastructure, the workshop puts the spotlight on China’s domestic infrastructure. It is based on the premise that in order to understand the “China Model” of infrastructure development abroad, now increasingly under scrutiny due to the prominence of the Belt and Road Initiative, it is fundamental to first address its domestic dimensions. The goal of the workshop is thus to trace how infrastructure development occurs within China and to interrogate how that process shapes the outward project of export infrastructure that is now a key feature of China’s political economy.

Workshop Objectives:

研讨会目标:

Papers for the workshop will focus on fine-grained investigations of China’s domestic infrastructure, including its political, social, cultural and environmental dimensions. By way of such approach, the workshop aims at both analyzing and ethnographically de-constructing the notion of a China model of development that projects such as the BRI have put forward. Through discussion of the papers, the workshop seeks to facilitate exchanges on common research subjects, compare perspectives and methodologies, and promote interdisciplinary dialogue. By offering a space for debate and reflection, the workshop aims to advance a diversity of theoretical approaches to Chinese infrastructure development in a regional and global context.

Part of the workshop will also be dedicated to a discussion of Hong Kong as a particular entry point into the analysis of China’s infrastructure. As demonstrated by the recent inauguration of the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macau bridge and the West Kowloon high-speed railway station, Hong Kong can be seen as both an exemplary showcase of China’s infrastructural hubris, and as an instantiation of the interconnection between infrastructure development and state territorialization. In so doing, we aim to further the debate on the role of Hong Kong in China’s vision for its own future development, and the role that infrastructure plays in its construction.

Time:

January 9 – January 10, 2020

Location:

Room 201, 2/F, May Hall, The University of Hong Kong

Program:

WorkshopTwo-Program

Registration Required. To sign up, please email toakes@colorado.edu.


Participants

Conveners

Tim Oakes – Professor of Geography, University of Colorado Boulder  (toakes@colorado.edu)

Dorothy Tang – Adjunct Assistant Professor of Architecture, University of Hong Kong and Doctoral Student, Urban Studies and Planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (dstang@mit.edu)

Max Hirsh – Assistant Professor of Geography, University of Hong Kong (hirsh@hku.hk)

Emily Yeh – Professor of Geography, University of Colorado Boulder (emily.yeh@colorado.edu)

Alessandro Rippa – Postdoctoral Fellow, Center for Asian Studies, University of Colorado Boulder ( alessandro.rippa@gmail.com)

Invited Participants

Mia Bennett – Assistant Professor of Geography, University of Hong Kong (mbennett@hku.hk)

Darren Byler – Lecturer, Department of Anthropology, University of Washington (dtbyler@gmail.com))

Carolyn Cartier – Professor of Human Geography and China Studies, University of Technology Sydney (Carolyn.Cartier@uts.edu.au))

Cecilia Chu – Assistant Professor, Department of Architecture, University of Hong Kong (clchu@hku.hk)

Tyler Harlan – Atkinson Postdoctoral Fellow in Sustainability, Cornell University (trh75@cornell.edu)

Agnieszka Joniak-Lüthi – Assistant Professor, Department of Social Anthropology, University of Zurich (agnieszka.joniak@anthro.unibe.ch)

Andrew Kipnis – Professor of Anthropology, Chinese University of Hong Kong (abkipnis@cuhk.edu.hk)

Elisabeth Köll – Associate Professor, Department of History, University of Notre Dame (ekoll@nd.edu)

Darcy Pan – Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Center for East and South-East Asian Studies, Lund University (darcy.pan@ace.lu.se)

Andrew Toland – Lecturer, School of Architecture, University of Technology Sydney (Andrew.Toland@uts.edu.au)

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: