First ChinaMade Workshop

00000000-0000-0000-0000-0000000000D9.jpg-o

First ChinaMade Workshop:

Conceiving Infrastructures in a Chinese Register

首次中国制造学术研讨会:构想中国框架内的基础设施


Workshop Overview:

 研讨会概况:

This will be the first of three workshops for a Henry Luce Foundation-funded initiative titled “China Made: Asian Infrastructures and the ‘China Model’ of Development.” We seek to develop a theoretical and methodological agenda for bringing infrastructure studies into conversation with China’s domestic and export infrastructures. Building on Harvey et al’s (2017, 6,) argument that: “The question ‘what is infrastructure’ must be addressed and experimented with, in registers at once conceptual and empirical”, this workshop will focus on how to conceive, theorize, and research China’s infrastructural developments within and beyond its borders. The goal of this workshop is to bring together participants who focus on China with those who have studied infrastructures in other Asian contexts, to sharpen questions and methods of analysis for further investigations of the conceptual-empirical registers of China’s infrastructural development.

此次研讨会是亨利卢斯基金会提供资金支持的“中国制造:亚洲基础设施与“中国模式”发展”项目中三个学术研讨会的第一个。第一个研讨会致力于发展一个结合理论与方法论的议程, 从而将基础设施研究与中国境内及其出口的基础设施研究聚集在一起讨论交流。Harvey等 (2017, 6,) 认为“什么是基础设施”这个问题必须在一个概念性及实际性的框架内被讨论及体会。基于该论点,此次研讨会将着重于构想,理论化及研究中国境内及海外的的基础设施发展。本次研讨会的目标是将研究中国的学者与研究亚洲其他地区基础设施的学者聚集在一起。同时加强提高未来对中国基础设施发展研究的问题与方法。

Workshop Objectives:

研讨会目标:

In the broadest sense, the goal of the workshop is to develop a theoretical and methodological agenda for bringing infrastructure studies into conversation with China’s domestic and export infrastructures. We intend to distill the conversation into a published paper that addresses this important gap in both the infrastructure and China studies fields. In preparation for the workshop, we ask each participant to respond in writing to two key questions (see below); some of these we would like to eventually post on the China Made website after the workshop. We also would like to interview some of the participants, and post edited versions of these interviews on the site as well.

广义上来讲,此次研讨会的目的是发展一个结合理论与方法论的议程, 从而将基础设施研究与中国境内及其出口的基础设施研究聚集在一起讨论交流。我们计划将此次研讨会的内容提炼成一篇可发表的文章。该文章将讨论阐述存在于基础设施研究与中国研究之间的缺口。为了准备此次研讨会,我们要求每一位参与者以文字方式回应两个关键问题。其中某些文章会在研讨会结束后被发表在中国制造网站上。同时我们期待采访部分研讨会参与者并且在同一网站上发表采访视频。

Time:

October 17 – October 19, 2018

Location:

Flatirons Room, Center For Community at CU Boulder campus

Program:

WorkshopOne-Program

Response Papers:

First ChinaMade Workshop Response Papers

Registration Required. To sign up, please email toakes@colorado.edu.


Participants

Conveners

Tim Oakes – Professor of Geography, University of Colorado Boulder  (toakes@colorado.edu)

Dorothy Tang – Adjunct Assistant Professor of Architecture, University of Hong Kong and Doctoral Student, Urban Studies and Planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (dstang@mit.edu)

Max Hirsh – Assistant Professor of Geography, University of Hong Kong     (hirsh@hku.hk)

Emily Yeh – Professor of Geography, University of Colorado Boulder (emily.yeh@colorado.edu)

Invited Participants

Jonathan Bach – Associate Professor of Global Studies, The New School(bachj@newschool.edu)

Andrew Barry – Professor of Geography, University College London (a.barry@ucl.ac.uk)

Mike Dwyer – Instructor, Geography, University of Colorado Boulder(mike.dwyer@Colorado.EDU)

Andrew Grant – Visiting Scholar, Center for Asian Studies, University of Colorado Boulder(angr2662@colorado.edu)

Gökçe Günel – Assistant Professor of Middle Eastern and North African Studies, University of Arizona(ggunel@email.arizona.edu)

Tong Lam – Associate Professor of Historical Studies, University of Toronto Mississauga(tong.lam@utoronto.ca)

Suzanne Moon – Associate Professor of History of Science, University of Oklahoma(suzannemoon@ou.edu)

Galen Murton – Assistant Professor of Geographic Science, James Madison University(murtongb@jmu.edu)

Pal Nyiri – Professor, Faculties of Humanities and Social Sciences, Vrije University(p.d.nyiri@vu.nl)

Katharine Rankin – Professor of Geography and Planning, University of Toronto(rankin@geog.utoronto.ca)

Alessandro Rippa – Postdoctoral Associate, Center for Asian Studies, University of Colorado Boulder (alessandro.rippa@gmail.com)

Christina Schwenkel – Associate Professor of Anthropology, University of CaliforniaRiverside(cschwenk@ucr.edu)

Rachel Silvey – Professor of Geography and Planning, University of Toronto(ai.director@utoronto.ca)

Edward Simpson – Professor of Social Anthropology, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London(es7@soas.ac.uk)

Hallam Stevens – Associate Professor of History, Nanyang Technological University(hstevens@ntu.edu.sg)

Yaffa Truelove – Assistant Professor of Geography, University of Colorado Boulder(truelove@colorado.edu)

Amy Zhang – Assistant Professor of Anthropology, New York University(amyzhang@nyu.edu)

Yongming Zhou – Professor of Anthropology, University of Wisconsin Madison(yongmingzhou@wisc.edu)

Ximin Zhou – Researcher, Brandnographer, Shanghai (ximinzhou@qq.com)